IIFA awards

The nominees for the 2016 IIFA Awards have been revealed, and anticipation is building up for the popular awards ceremony, which will be held in Madrid, Spain, from June 23-26. Nominated in eight categories, the Deepika Padukone, Priyanka Chopra and Ranveer Singh starrer “Bajirao Mastani” leads the nominations race.

The 17th edition of the NEXA International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards, which has been held year after year in different cities across the world, spreading the magic of Bollywood and Indian culture, is slated to take place in Madrid, Spain – its fourth European destination after London, Yorkshire and Amsterdam – from June 23-26.

The nominations for Bollywood’s biggest awards night have been revealed, and the Deepika Padukone, Priyanka Chopra and Ranveer Singh starrer “Bajirao Mastani” has scored a maximum of eight nominations, while Salman Khan’s “Bajrangi Bhaijaan,” is just behind with seven nominations.

Other films that have scored more than one nomination include Shoojit Sircar’s “Piku” and Farhan Akhtar’s “Dil Dhadakne Do.”

Competing for “Performance in a Leading Role - Male” are actors Ranveer Singh for “Bajirao Mastani,” Ranbir Kapoor for “Tamasha,” Amitabh Bachchan for “Piku,” Salman Khan for “Bajrangi Bhaijaan” and Varun Dhawan for “Badlapur.”

The nominees for “Performance in a Leading Role – Female” are Priyanka Chopra for “Dil Dhadakne Do,” Deepika Padukone for “Piku,” Kangana Ranaut for “Tanu Weds Manu Returns,” “Shraddha Kapoor for “ABCD 2” and Deepika Padukone for “Bajirao Mastani.”

Nominees for “Best Director” are Kabir Khan (“Bajrangi Bhaijaan”), Shoojit Sircar (“Piku”), Meghna Gulzar (“Talvar”), Aanand L Rai (“Tanu Weds Manu Returns”) and Sanjay Leela Bhansali (“Bajirao Mastani”).

“Bajrangi Bhaijaan,” “Piku,” “Talvar,” “Tanu Weds Manu Returns” and “Bajirao Mastani” are in the running for the “Best Picture” award, while the fight for the “Best Story” is between V.Vijayendra Prasad (“Bajrangi Bhaijaan”), Massimo Carlotto (“Badlapur”) and Juhi Chaturvedi (“Piku”).

Priyanka Chopra and Tanvi Azmi, who featured in “Bajirao Mastani,” have been nominated in the “Performance in a Supporting Role – Female” category. The two actresses are up against Anushka Sharma, Huma Qureshi and Konkana Sen Sharma.

Singer Arijit Singh, who has scored two nominations in the “Best Playback Singer- Male” category, will be competing against Papon, whereas in the “Best Playback Singer- Female” category, the competition is between Shreya Ghoshal, Sunidhi Chauhan, Kanika Kapoor and Monali Thakur.

Nawazuddin Siddiqui has secured three nominations: “Performance in a Comic Role” for “Bajrangi Bhaijaan”; “Performance in a Negative Role” for “Badlapur”; and “Performance in a Supporting Role- Male” for “Bajrangi Bhaijaan.”

Along with Siddhiqui, Irrfan Khan, Anil Kapoor, Deepak Dobriyal and Farhan Akhtar have been nominated in “Performance in a Supporting Role – Male” category.

After successfully anchoring the 2014 gala in Tampa Bay, Florida, Farhan Akhtar and Shahid Kapoor will be reuniting as the hosts of this year’s IIFA Awards.

The actors expected to entertain audiences with their power-packed performances at the star-studded awards ceremony that will include Salman Khan, Hrithik Roshan, Priyanka Chopra, Deepika Padukone, Parineeti Chopra and Sonakshi Sinha. Singers Meet Brothers, Kanika Kapoor, Benny Dayal, Neeti Mohan, Monali Thakur and Papon will also be serenading the film lovers.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.