Global Indian
Hot Topics

Four Academics Recipients of 2012 Young Investigator Awards

Dr. Rahul Jain
  • United States

    The Office of Naval Research recently announced that through its Young Investigator Program four Indian American academics were recipients of the 2012 Young Investigator Award.

    The YIP seeks to identify and support academic scientists and engineers who are in their first or second full-time tenure-track or tenure-track-equivalent academic appointment and who show exceptional promise for doing creative research. 
    The objectives of the program are to attract outstanding university faculty members to the Department of the Navy's research program, to support their research, and to encourage their teaching and research careers.
    The Indian American recipients of the 2012 YIP awards are Dr. Rahul Jain, of the University of Southern California; Dr. Saibal Mukhopadhyay, Georgia Institute of Technology; Dr. Siddhartha Srinivasa, Carnegie Mellon University; and Dr. Subhas Venayagamoorthy of Colorado State University. 
    Jain wants to pursue “Stochastic Dynamic Optimization and Games: Simulation and Learning Methods,” while Mukhopadhay in interested in “On-line Real-Time Optimal Energy Balancing for Self-Powered Environment Adaptive Sensor Node.
    Srinivasa hopes to investigate “Enabling Advanced Autonomous Physical Manipulation Capabilities for Robots in Human-Robot Teams,” and Venayagamoorthy is keen to study “Internal Wave-Driven Mixing and Transport in the Coastal Ocean.”
    Proposals may request up to $170,000 per year for three years.
    Jain is an assistant professor and the Kenneth C. Dahlberg Early Career Chair in the Electrical Engineering Department at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles. He received his Ph.D. in EECS, and an M.A. in statistics, both from the University of California, Berkeley. He also received an M.S. in ECE from Rice University, where he was a recipient of the Texas Instruments Fellowship. He completed his undergraduate work with a B.Tech in EE from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. 
    Mukhopadhyay is an assistant professor in VLSI Systems and Digital Design, Electronic Design and Applications, and Microelectronics/Microsystems who received his bachelor of engineering degree in electronics and telecommunication engineering from Jadavpur University, Kolkata, in 2000. He went on to earn a Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from Purdue University.
    Srinivasa received a B.Tech in mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology- Madras in 1999, and his M.S. and Ph.D. in 2005 from the Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. 
    Venayagamoorthy is an assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering at Colorado State University. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering from the University of Natal in Durban, South Africa, and his Ph.D. in civil and environmental engineering from Stanford University. 
  • print
  • comnt
  • AddInto
  • rss

Also Read
Kindly Log in or Sign up before using this feature!!
Related Stories
Also In This Section

@ Copyright All Rights Reserved