Global Indian
Hot Topics

Academics Named Fellows of Top National Science Association

Anurag Agrawal
  • NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ, United States

    Forty-four Indian American and Indian-origin scholars from academic institutions in the U.S. and other countries were among the 702 scholars that the American Association for the Advancement of Science recently elevated to the rank of Fellow. 

    The pre-eminent national scientific organization selects Fellows based on their efforts in advancing science or fostering applications considered scientifically or socially distinguished.

    The new inductees will receive an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin Feb. 16 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2013 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston, Mass.

    Recognized for their contributions to science and technology in their respective disciplines were: 

    In Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources:

    Avtar Krishan Handa of Purdue University, Ravi Naidu, University of South Australia; and Sanjaya Rajaram, Resource Seed Mexicana.

    Biological Sciences:

    Soman Ninan Abraham of Duke University Medical Center, Anurag Agrawal, Cornell University; Priya Davidar, Pondicherry University, India; Lakshmi A. Devi, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine; Ratnesh Lal, University of California at San Diego; Mitzi Nagarkatti, University of South Carolina; D. C. Rao, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis; and Mrinalini Chatta Rao, University of Illinois at Chicago.


    Prabir K. Dutta of Ohio State University, Kattesh V. Katti, University of Missouri-Columbia; N. Rama Krishna, University of Alabama; Krishna Kumar, Tufts University; Ursula Mazur, Washington State University; and Mohan Srinivasarao, Georgia Institute of Technology.  


    Amit Bandyopadhyay of Washington State University, Yogesh Jaluria, Rutgers University; Suhada Jayasuriya, University of Central Florida; Soundar Kumara, Pennsylvania State University; Azad M. Madni, University of Southern California; and Samir Mitragotri, University of California at Santa Barbara.

    Also recognized in this category were Ranga Narayanan of the University of Florida, Rama Venkatasubramanian, RTI International; Darsh T. Wasan, Illinois Institute of Technology; and Rama Krishna Yedavalli, Ohio State University.

    Information, Computing & Communication:

    Prabir Bhattacharya of the University of Cincinnati, Raj Jain, Washington University in St. Louis; Prasant Mohapatra, University of California at Davis; Manish Parashar, Rutgers University; and Nagarajan Ranganathan, University of South Florida.

    Also recognized in this category were Arun K. Somani of Iowa State University, Aravind Srinivasan, University of Maryland at College Park; and Ashok N. Srivastava, NASA Ames Research Center.

    Medical Sciences:

    Raghu Kalluri of Harvard Medical School/Beth Israel Deaconess.

    Pharmaceutical Sciences:

    Anil Kumar Sood of MD Anderson Cancer Center.


    Ashutosh Kotwal of Duke University, Aneesh Manohar, University of California at San Diego; Nitin Samarth, Pennsylvania State University; and Surajit Sen, University at Buffalo.


    Nitis Mukhopadhyay of the University of Connecticut, Haikady N. Nagaraja, Ohio State University; and Ajit C. Tamhane, Northwestern University.  


  • print
  • comnt
  • AddInto
  • rss

Also Read
Kindly Log in or Sign up before using this feature!!
Related Stories
Also In This Section

@ Copyright All Rights Reserved