Indian American entomologist Sarjeet Gill was among 10 named Fellows of the Entomological Society of America this year.

Gill is a distinguished professor of cell biology and neuroscience at the University of California at Riverside.

ESA is one of the largest organizations in the world serving the professional and scientific needs of entomologists and people in similar disciplines. The Fellows were selected by ESA’s governing board for outstanding contributions to entomology in one or more of the following: research, teaching, extension or administration.

“I truly appreciate ESA’s recognition, not only of my lab’s research but also that of my colleagues,” Gill said in a statement. “These collaborative efforts over the years contributed to our success. This recognition also continues to demonstrate U.C. Riverside’s preeminence in insect science.”

Gill, who received his doctorate in insecticide toxicology from U.C. Berkeley, joined the faculty of the entomology department at U.C. Riverside in 1983, where he helped establish the department of cell biology and neuroscience and the environmental toxicology graduate program. Chair of the department and director of the graduate program, he is also the editor of Insect Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

Gill’s lab has two areas of principal research.

The first is to elucidate the mode of action of insecticidal toxins derived from the bacteria Bacillus thuringiensis. Another toxin is gram-positive bacteria, Clostridium bifermentans, which is mosquitocidal. The research attempts to obtain a better understanding of the toxins and how they interact with cellular targets.

The second area of research focuses on mosquito midgut and Malpighian tubules function, changes that occur following a blood meal, and how toxins affect these functions.

Gill is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a recipient of the ESA recognition award in insect physiology, biochemistry and toxicology. He has served on many grant review panels at the National Institutes of Health and U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The 10 honorees will be recognized at the annual ESA meeting in November in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.