Indian chess Grandmaster Harika Dronavalli began her effort in the Rejkjavik Open with an easy win over opponent Magnus Magnusson, April 19, 2017. (Facebook photo)

REYKJAVIK/SHAKMIR — Harika Dronavalli, India’s Grandmaster chess player, began her campaign at the Rejkjavik Open in style, easily beating local boy Magnus Magnusson at the Herpa Concert Hall in Reykjavik.

Starting with black, the world number 11 took control of the game in the opening, forcing her opponent into a series of mistakes here late April 19 night.

"Magnus made a number of strategic errors and I exploited them to outplay him," the Guntur girl

The tournament, which offers an impressive €5,000 prize, is now in its 32nd year. 

The event is a 10-round Swiss tournament with a 90-minute time control for 40 moves, with a further 30 minutes added until the end of the game, with a 30-second increment from the first move. 

The 2521 ELO-rated player from India played back to back matches on the opening day and took on FIDE Master John Doknjas of Canada later in the day April 20. 

A total of 266 players from across the globe are competing this year. 

Along with Dronavalli, other Indians in the match include Abhijeet Gupta, Magesh Panchanatan, Abhijit Kunte and Rameshbabu Praggnanadhaa.

Meanwhile, Shakmir, Azerbaijan, Indian Grand Master Pentala Harikrishna is all set to take on the best in the world at the prestigious Shakmir Chess 2017 tournament, starting April 21.

The tournament, which is dedicated to the late Azerbaijan Grandmaster Vugar Gashimov, is an invitational tournament and attracts the best chess players in the world. 

Ranked 14th in the world, Harikrishna will be raring to go against the elite playing field spearheaded by world number 2 American Wesley So. 

The 10-man round-robin tournament, which offers total prize money of €100,000, will also see Russian pair world number 4 Vladimir Kramnik and world number 8 Sergwey Karjakin in action as well. A whopping €25,000 will go to the winner. 

The other players in the fray are Shakriyar Mamedyarov (Azerbaijan), Michael Adams (England), Pavel Eljanov (Ukraine), Radoslaw Wojtasek (Poland), Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria) and Teimour Radjabov (Azerbaijan).

The tournament will be played at a time control of 120 minutes for the first 40 moves, 60 minutes for the next 20 moves and then each player will be allotted 15 minutes for the rest of the game, plus 30 seconds per move starting from move 61.

A tie-break match will be played in case of a tie for first place.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.