India's U-19 cricket team captain Prithvi Shaw addresses during a press conference in Mumbai on Feb. 5. The young heroes thrashed Australia by eight wickets to win the U-19 ICC World Cup Feb. 17. (Sandip Mahankal/IANS)

MUMBAI — India's U-19 World Cup winning Captain Prithvi Shaw has been named in the 16-member Mumbai squad for the knockout matches of the Vijay Hazare 50-over domestic tournament, to be played in Delhi from Feb. 21.

In Chennai, Shaw had featured in four games and scored two fifties in the league stage of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

The Aditya Tare-led Mumbai team led includes regulars Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad and Akhil Herwadkar.

Mumbai and Andhra Pradesh qualified from Group C for the knockouts.

The squad: Aditya Tare (captain), Dhawal Kulkarni (vice-captain), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Akhil Herwadkar, Jay Bista, Shivam Dube, Eknath Kerkar, Aakash Parkar, Dhrumil Matkar, Royston Dias, Shams Mulani, Shubham Ranjane, Shivam Malhotra, Prithvi Shaw.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.