SINGAPORE — In matches that contrasted in ease but not outcome, star shuttlers P.V. Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth won in their respective categories and will enter the second round of the Singapore Open Superseries badminton tournament April 12.

The fifth seeded Sindhu, who was up against Nozomi Okuhara of Japan in her first round match in the women's singles category, lost the first game before staging a superb comeback to win 10-21, 21-15, 22-20 in 62 minutes.

Okuhara was off to a good start in the opening game, winning two consecutive points before the Indian equalized. 

The two opponents fought neck and neck before Okuhara took six points on the trot to open up a commanding 17-10 lead, and went on to take the first game.

The second game also saw an intense battle early on. With the scores locked at 6-6, Sindhu racked up nine back to back points to lead 15-6.

Although Okuhara tried to stage a comeback, she could not prevent Sindhu from taking the game. 

The third game also saw a pitched battle. Although Sindhu won seven consecutive points to lead 16-8, Okuhara fought back to draw level at 20-20.

Sindhu however, took the next two points to seal the game and the match.

Srikanth on the other hand, had a much easier day in office as he beat Kenta Nishimoto of Japan in straight games in the opening round of the men's singles.

Srikanth dominated proceedings from the start to register a comfortable 21-12, 21-11 win in 32 minutes.

Nishimoto gave a tough fight in the early stages of the first game before Srikanth opened up a 7-4 lead and never looked back.

Srikanth enjoyed a superb start to the second game, taking a 6-0 lead early on and continued to hold the upper hand throughout.

Among other Indians in the fray, B. Sai Praneeth defeated Emil Holst of Denmark 17-21, 21-7, 21-9 in 64 minutes in the men's singles.

Women's singles pair Ashwini Ponappa and Sikki Reddy also entered the second round with a 21-19, 21-19 win over Malaysian duo Yin Loo Yim and Yap Cheng Wen.

The remaining Indians faced disappointment, however, as Ajay Jayaram, Sourabh Verma, Sameer Verma (men's singles), M.R. Arjun and Ramchandran Shlok (men's doubles), Sanjana Santhosh and Arathi Sunil (women's doubles) and Manu Attri, B. Sumeeth (men's doubles) crashed out in the first round.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.