Aamir Khan

Left to right: Anil Kapoor, Indra Kumar, Ajay Devgn, Madhuri Dixit Nene, Sanjay Mishra, Aamir Khan, Arshad Warsi, Boman Irani and Javed Jaffery are seen at the mahurat clap for “Total Dhamaal!” (photo provided)

MUMBAI—Aamir Khan, who has worked with renowned filmmaker Indra Kumar in his directorial debut “Dil” (1990) as well as in “Ishq” (1997) and “Mann” (1999), gave the mahurat clap for 2018’s much awaited comic caper “Total Dhamaal!” Jan. 8. Shooting commenced in Mumbai, and the film will release Dec. 7 as the third movie in the franchise, after “Dhamaal” (2007) and “Double Dhamaal” (2011).

While Anil Kapoor directed the shot and director Indra Kumar assisted him, Madhuri Dixit switched on the camera. Ajay Devgn, Arshad Warsi, Boman Irani, Jaaved Jafferi and Sanjay Mishra featured in the shoot as well.

The laugh riot has a casting coup with the hit duo Anil Kapoor and Madhuri Dixit joining Ajay Devgn in the film. Aashish Chowdhry was missing, and it is not yet clear if he is in the new film.

Presented by Fox Star Studios, “Total Dhamaal” is produced by Ajay Devgn Films, Ashok Thakeria, Markand Adhikari, Anand Pandit and Fox Star Studios and is directed by Indra Kumar.

Kapoor and Dixit have starred in Kumar’s “Beta” (1992), his biggest ever hit, while Kapoor also did his debut film as producer, “Mohabbat” (1985) followed by “Kasam” (1988) and a cameo in “Mann.” Dixit has done “Dil” and “Raja” (1995), while Devgn was in the cast of “Ishq” (1997) and “Masti” (2004).

With this film, Devgn enters the second comedy franchise of Kumar after “Masti” and now has a presence in three of the six famous comic franchises in Hindi cinema.

Six Famous Comic Franchises in Hindi Films:

“Dhamaal” (third film under production)/Indra Kumar

Fixed Cast: Riteish Deshmukh, Arshad Warsi, Jaaved Jafferi

“Golmaal” (four films)/Rohit Shetty

Fixed Cast: Ajay Devgn, Tusshar, Arshad Warsi

“Hera Pheri” (third film planned)/Priyadarshan in first film

Fixed Cast: Akshay Kumar, Suniel Shetty, Paresh Rawal

“Housefull” (fourth film under production)/Sajid Khan (except one)

Fixed Cast: Akshay Kumar, Riteish Deshmukh, Boman Irani

“Masti” (three films)/Indra Kumar

Fixed Cast: Riteish Deshmukh, Vivek Oberoi, Aftab Shivdasani

“Welcome” (two films)/Anees Bazmee

Fixed Cast: Nana Patekar, Anil Kapoor

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.