More than 100 members of the industry attended the Sansui Colors Stardust Awards held at the Reliance Jio Gardens in Mumbai Dec. 21.

Paying homage to the hard work put forth by the Indian film industry in 2015, the glitzy awards night witnessed a celebration of the commercially successful and critically acclaimed movies that have set incredibly high benchmarks in the year gone by. The splendid night brought together leading and prominent names from the silver screen, whose entertainment quotient reached unparalleled heights with some spectacular performances.

The red carpet witnessed the presence of the entire film fraternity, as actors like Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Kajol, Salman Khan, Anil Kapoor, Ranveer Singh, Sonam Kapoor, Alia Bhatt, Jacqueline Fernandez, Shahid Kapoor, Parineeti Chopra, Richa Chaddha and Nimrat Kaur, including power couple Nita and Mukesh Ambani, came together to applaud the achievements of 2015.

Showing true sportsmanship, seasoned cricketers Dilip Vengsarkar and Mohd Azharuddin along with ace batsman Rohit Sharma graced the awards night with their presence and spoke about their alliance with Sansui along with Saif Ali Khan.

Increasing the viewer engagement quotient, for the first-time-ever a Facebook Live Room was created at the red carpet, greeting celebrities with an arsenal of questions. This was streamed live on Colors’ Facebook page as the channel’s viewers and fans tuned in to watch the nervous celebrities face the brunt of some quirky and fun situations.

Tickling the funny bone of the audience was Riteish Deshmukh, who was joined by Bollywood’s sarcasm queen Farah Khan. Other hosts who kept the audiences in splits included Nimrat Kaur, Manish Paul and Krushna Abhishek. Furthermore, the red carpet was hosted by Karan Wahi and Aishwarya Sakhuja.

The grandeur of the evening was magnified by a volley of superstars who added to the spark of the evening through well-orchestrated performances. While the ‘Badshah’ of Bollywood sizzled onstage with his “Dilwale” co-stars Kajol, Varun Dhawan and Kriti Sanon, Ranveer Singh performed to a royal Malhari act. Arjun Kapoor presented adrenaline pumping stunts, creating a roar of enjoyment and surprise among the audience. Other performances that dazzled viewers included those by actors Shahid Kapoor, Sonam Kapoor, Jaqueline Fernandez and Alia Bhatt. Versatile actor Varun Dhawan walked away with the Sansui Entertainer of the Year award owing to his outstanding performances in the year 2015.

Giving this year an entertaining end and a terrific kick-start to 2016, the Sansui Colors Stardust Awards will be televised Jan. 10, 2016 at 7 p.m. on Colors.

The winners of the Sansui Colors Stardust Awards were:

Category Name

Winner Name

Best Costume Design

Niharika Khan (Bombay Velvet)

Best Screenplay

Varun Grover (Masaan)           

Best Story

Sriram Raghavan and Arijit Biswas (Badlapur)

Best Lyricist

Varun Grover (Masaan)

Best Playback Singer – Female

Palak Muchhal (Prem Ratan Dhan Paayo)

Best Playback Singer – Male

Armaan Malik (Hero)

Best Music Director

Amit Trivedi (Shandaar)

Best Music Album


Best Choreographer

Remo D’Souza (ABCD 2)

Best Actor in Supporting Role – Female

Shefali Shah (Dil Dhadakne Do)

Best Actor in Supporting Role – Male

Anil Kapoor (Dil Dhadakne Do)

Best Actor in Negative Role

Randeep Hooda (Main Aur Charles)

Best Actor in Comic Role

Kartik Aaryan (Pyaar Ka Punchnama 2)

Best Debut – Female

Bhoomi Pednekar (Dum Lagake Haisha)

Best Debut – Male

Sooraj Pancholi (Hero)

Filmmaker of the Year

Meghna Gulzar (Talwar) and Shonali Bose (Margarita With A Straw)

Editors Film of the Year

Dum Lagake Haisha

Best Film of the Year

Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Best Director of the Year

Kabir Khan (Bajrangi Bhaijaan)

Breakthrough Performance by a Child Artist

Harshali Malhotra (Bajrangi Bhaijaan)

Power-packed Performer of the Year

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan

Stardust Editor’s Choice Performer of the Year – Female

Richa Chaddha (Masaan)

Stardust Editor’s Choice Performer of the Year – Male

Irrfan Khan (Piku)

Best Actor of the Year – Female

Deepika Padukone (Piku)

Best Actor of the Year – Male

Amitabh Bachchan

Style Icon of the Year

Parineeti Chopra

Best Debut Jodi

Sooraj Pancholi and Athiya Shetty

Lifetime Achievement Award


Pride of the Industry

Anu Malik

Timeless Diva

Zeenat Aman

Sansui Entertainer of the Year

Varun Dhawan

Special Recognition to a Casting Director

Mukesh Chhabra

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.