New Emojis

Fifty-nine distinct new emojis, including that of a sari, a Hindu temple and an auto rickshaw, will be released on various online platforms this year. (YouTube screengrabs)

If you are among those who feel emojis make communication easier, or faster for you, then you are in luck. The Emoji 12.0, or the new set of emojis approved for release in 2019, has been unveiled by the Unicode Consortium, a nonprofit group that approves and standardizes emojis; 230 new emojis will be coming to various platforms this year.

Some of the notable India-specific additions include emojis of a Hindu temple, a sari, an auto rickshaw and a diya.

In the sixth major emoji update since 2014, Emoji 12.0, according to, is comprised of 59 distinct new emojis; 75 when gender variations are taken into account; and 230 new emojis when all skin tone options are also included.

With manual and motorized wheelchair emojis, along with hearing aids and prosthetic limbs emojis, the list also represents people with disabilities. Focusing on diversity and inclusivity, the list includes a new ‘people holding hands emoji’, which is gender inclusive, with mixed skin tones.

The new offerings, which will be released throughout this year, also include an otter, a waffle, falafel, a yawning face and onion and garlic emojis.

Take a look at all the new emojis here:

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.