MUMBAI — 100 music composers came together under the Music Composers’ Association of India umbrella to celebrate Independence Day and AtmaNirbhar Bharat with a new-age version of ‘Vande Mataram.’

On the occasion of the 74th Independence Day, MCAI will be gifting the nation a new rendition of the eternal Indian national song, which was composed by Bankim Chandra Chaterjee. What makes the new composition unique and different is that it has been put together by 100 music composers across India.

“The nation needs positivity and hope,” says Aashish Rego. “We have gone through some of the toughest times in a century. It was about 115 years ago that “Vande Mataram” became a clarion call that rallied Indians in their fight against British rule. We hope our version will galvanize all Indians together to emerge as a new rapidly rising nation in the spirit of creation, collaboration, contribution and celebration.”

“It is time to move ahead as collaborators and not competitors, as all 100 of us have done, in this song, to create something greater than the individual.”

The song is conceived and composed by Aashish Rego with lyrics by Vipin Mishra and co-produced by Somesh Mathur and Justin-Uday. Anil Wanvari is the executive producer of this video.

The mixing engineer is Smitesh Joshi and additional lyrics and composition are by Vipin Mishra. Shaan, Justin-Uday, Gurukiran, Ram Sampat, Salim Merchant, Kalpana Patowry, Somesh Mathur, Malini Awasthi, Adnan Sami, Shankar Mahadevan, Hariharan, Tapas Relia, Gulraj Singh, Mame Khan, Avadhoot Gupte, Anup Jalota and Nooran Sisters provide the Additional Compositions and Vocal Artistry.

The additional lyrics are: “Aao Badhayen Haath / Aur Milkar Saath Saath / Sur Se Sur Milaakar / Ek Naye Aatmanirbhar / Bharat Ka Nirmaan Karen” Among the 100 composers who have contributed to the song are: Somesh Mathur, Malini Awasthi, Daler Mehndi, Amit Trivedi, Viju Shah, Lalit Pandit, Bappi Lahiri, Shaan, Salim Merchant, Vipin Mishra, Sameeruddin, Shonjoy Chowdhary, Kailash Kher, Usha Khanna, Merlin Dsouza, Anup Jalota Hariharan, Nooran Sisters, Aashish Rego, Adnan Sami, Shankar Mahadevan, Avadhoot Gupte, Raju Singh, Sameer Phaterphekar, Jigar Saraiya, Ehsaan Noorani, Justin Yesudas, Uday Ninjoor, Viveick Rajgopalan Gopisunder. K. C. Loy, M. Jayachandran, Dilip Sen, Sameer Sen, Krsna Solo, Anandji, Ranjit Barot, Louis Banks, Shantanu Moitra, Arko, Sandesh Shandilya, Jeet Ganguly, Amar Mohile, Pt. Hariprasad Chaurasia, Pt. Vishwamohan Bhatt, Rajat Dholakia, Milind Chitnavis, Shameer Tandon, Lalit Sen, John Stewart Eduri, Julius Packiam, Loy Mendonca, Rahul Seth, Kuldeep Singh, Fazal Qureshi, Shail Hada, Ismail Darbar, Ashok Patki and others.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.