Four Indian Americans were among 80 United States-based engineers named members by the National Academy of Engineers.

NAE made the announcement of its 2016 members Feb. 8. Additionally, two Indian origin engineers were among the 22 foreign-based members selected.

In the U.S., Anil K. Jain, Arati Prabhakar, Ganesh Thakur and K.R. Sridhar were named members.

Jain, a distinguished professor in the department of computer science and engineering at Michigan State University in East Lansing, Mich., was selected for his contributions to engineering and the practice of biometrics.

Prabhakar is the director of the U.S. Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency in Arlington, Va. She was chosen for her national leadership to advance semiconductor and information technologies.

Thakur, who is the president of Houston, Texas-based Thakur Services Inc., was named a member for his leadership in the implementation of integrated reservoir management techniques.

Sridhar, a principal co-founder and chief executive officer of Sunnyvale, Calif.-based Bloom Energy Corp., was elected for contributions to transport phenomena and thermal packaging of electrochemical systems and generation of clean, reliable and affordable power.

In addition to the four Indian Americans chosen, India-based Mukesh D. Ambani and Satyan Pitroda were among the 22 foreign engineers chosen by the NAE.

Ambani is the chairman and managing director of Reliance Industries Ltd. in Mumbai. He was selected for engineering and business leadership in oil refineries, petrochemical products and related industries.

Pitroda, chairman of Oakbrook Terrace, Ill.-based The Pitroda Group, was chosen for development of rural telecommunications infrastructure for India.

With the additional 102 members named to the NAE, the total number of members in the U.S. is now 2,275, with another 232 as foreign members.

NAE, in a statement, said election to the institution is “among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.”

Members are chosen based on outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice or education, as well as special contributions to engineering literature and to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering or developing and implementing innovative approaches to engineering education, the statement said.

The newly-elected members will be formally inducted at the NAE annual meeting in Washington, D.C., Oct. 9.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.