golden temple

File photo of Sikh devotees carrying the Guru Granth Sahib in a golden palanquin during a procession on the eve of the birth anniversary of the 10th Sikh Guru Gobind Singh at the Golden Temple in Amritsar on Jan. 1, 2020.  (Narinder Nanu/AFP via Getty Images)

TORONTO – The Canada India Foundation has announced a donation of Canadian $21,000 to the langar at the Golden Temple in Amritsar where over 100,000 people eat free meals each day.

The Foundation, which also honors a prominent Indian from anywhere in the world with the Global Indian Award each year, is donating to the langar after the amended Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Act granted registration to the Golden Temple to receive direct foreign donations.

"We were very excited to hear the news that people from all over the world can now directly donate to the Golden Temple langar seva. We at the CIF want to be among the first to show our appreciation," CIF chairman Satish Thakkar said.

Thakkar thanked India for fulfilling the long-pending demand of the Indo-Canadian diaspora to make direct donations to the world's biggest langar at the Golden Temple.

"Thousands of devotees from Canada were prevented from sending money to the langar seva because of the stringent provisions of the FCRA. The Indo-Canadian community has reacted favorably to the Indian announcement," added Foundation convenor Ritesh Malik.

Bhupinder Singh Khalsa of Toronto, founder member of the Foundation, said: "I feel blessed that now sitting in Canada I can send my humble contribution to the langar.

"Though Canada has always given us every opportunity to stay connected to our roots, culture and religion, this is a great step by India to help us to stay connected to the source of our faith."

Set up in 2007, the CIF is an advocacy group aimed at promoting India-Canada relations.

The Foundation's C$50,000 Global Indian Award also honors a prominent Indian each year and will be announced shortly.

The late president APJ Abdul Kalam, industrialist Ratan Tata, Congress leader Sam Pitroda and noted economist Montek Singh Ahluwalia are among the past recipients of this award.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.