Indian American political candidates in Nevada Bobby Mahendra, Reuben D’Silva and Asheesh Dewan failed to generate any traction in their respective primary elections June 12.

Mahendra, making a second bid for the Democratic nomination for a U.S. Senate seat, finished in sixth place, ahead of just one other candidate, Daniel Burleigh.

Jacky Rosen was the overwhelming winner of the primary, collecting 77.12 percent of the vote, or roughly 110,530 votes. The voters checked “None of these candidates” 7 percent or 10,070 times, which was the second most in the primary.

David Drew Knight, Allen Rheinhart and Jesse Sbaih all finished ahead of Mahendra, who collected 3,833 votes for 2.67 percent.

Mahendra had previously run for the nomination in 2016 when Catherine Cortez Masto won the nomination with 80.6 percent of the vote. The Indian American finished last in that primary with 3.7 percent of the vote.

Masto went on to win that seat and now Mahendra was seeking the other U.S. Senate seat, currently occupied by Republican Dean Heller.

Rosen, along with Independent American Kamau Bakari, Independents Richard Charles and Barry Michaels, as well as Libertarian Tim Hagan, will challenge Heller for the seat in November.

Like Mahendra, D’Silva was taking a second crack at the same seat. In 2016, then as an Independent, the Indian American ran for the U.S. House District 1 seat, and came in third in the general with 7.4 percent of the vote, finishing behind Democrat Dina Titus (62 percent) and Republican Mary Perry (29 percent).

Now running as a Democrat, D’Silva was challenging the incumbent Titus for the party’s nomination. The two-candidate race wasn’t a competitive one, however, with the incumbent receiving 78.69 percent of the vote, totaling 20,897 votes to D’Silva’s 21.31 percent and 5,659 votes.

Titus will now seek to retain the seat in the November general election, challenged by Republican Joyce Bentley, Independent Daniel Garfield and Libertarian Robert Van Strawder.

Dewan was hoping to earn the Democratic nomination for the gubernatorial race. The Indian American’s message was not heard – no campaign site nor social media outlet was created – and received a mere 1,467 votes for 1 percent, finishing seventh of seven options.

Steve Sisolak received 50 percent of the vote – a total of 72,726 votes – to earn the nomination. Chris Giunchigliani, with 39 percent, was the closest challenger to Sisolak. Others receiving votes ahead of Dewan were “None of these candidates” with 3.5 percent, John Bonaventura with 3 percent, Henry Thomas with 1.9 percent and David Jones with 1.7 percent.

Sisolak advances to the general election this November where he will face Republican Adam Laxalt, Independent American Russell Best, Libertarian Jared Lord and Independent Ryan Bundy.

In other elections across the country, Ambureen Rana ran unopposed in the Maine House of Representatives District 100 Democratic primary election and advanced to the general election.

The Indian American is a Progressive Democratic currently serving as the co-chair for Maine Transgender Network INC and as a community organizer for Health Equity Alliance.

Rana graduated from the University of Maine with a degree in biology. According to, she is the youth outreach coordinator at the Health Equity Alliance. She also runs multiple drop-in centers across the state of Maine for queer and trans youth, where she earned the nickname "Mumbureen.”

Rana visits high schools to help them become safer for the LGBTQ+ community and to teach an inclusive and comprehensive sexual health curriculum.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.