Indian American high school students accounted for about one-quarter of the 300 semifinalists named in this year’s Intel Science Talent Search, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious pre-college science and math competition.

Each high school semifinalist receives a $1,000 award from Intel, with an additional $1,000 going to his or her school, resulting in $600,000 in total semifinalist awards.

The contest in 2015 will feature a new awards structure, Intel announced Jan. 7. The top award money has been tripled and new awards categories have been added.

Last year’s $100,000 top prize has been replaced by three Medal of Distinctions of $150,000 each to students who demonstrate exceptional scientific potential in three areas: basic research, global good and innovation.

Also new to the competition are three second-place awards of $75,000 and three third-place awards of $35,000. Each finalist receives at least $7,500.

The 40 finalists, to be named Jan. 21, will receive all-expenses-paid trips to Washington, D.C., to compete for more than $1 million in awards March 5-11.

Semifinalists were selected from more than 1,800 entrants from 460 high schools in 41 states, Puerto Rico and five American and international high schools overseas.

The Indian American semifinalists below are listed in alphabetical order by state:


Venkata Viswajit Macha, 17, Loveless Academic Magnet Program High School, Montgomery;

Ruchir Rastogi, 17, Loveless Academic Magnet Program H.S.;


Anvita Gupta, 17, BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale;


Tanay Tandon, 18, Cupertino H.S., Cupertino;

Rohan Choudhury, 17, Monta Vista H.S., Cupertino;

Aunoy Poddar, 18, Monta Vista H.S.;

Rohan Anand Savoor, 18, Monte Vista H.S., Danville;

Vaishnavi Shrivastava, 17, Mission San Jose H.S., Fremont;

Kriti Lall, 17, Castilleja School, Palo Alto;

Shreya Ramayya, 17, Palos Verdes Peninsula H.S., Rolling Hills Estates;

Karthik Raju,, 17, Mira Loma H.S., Sacramento;

Prem Talwai, 17, Mira Loma H.S.;

Somya Khare, 18, Lynbrook H.S., San Jose;

Nidhi A. Navaratna, 17, Lynbrook H.S.;

Ruchi Pandya, 18, Lynbrook H.S.;

Shikhar Dixit, 17, The Harker School, San Jose;

Rohith Kuditipudi, 18, The Harker School;

Neil Movva, 17, The Harker School;

Pranav Gudipally Reddy, 17, The Harker School;

Anokhi Saklecha, 17, The Harker School;

Nikash Shankar, 17, The Harker School;

Sriram Somasundaram, 17, The Harker School;

Kailas Vodrahalli, 17, The Harker School;

Augustine George Chemparathy, 17, Dougherty Valley H.S., San Ramon;

Saranesh Prembabu, 17, Dougherty Valley H.S.;

Neel Bedekar, 17, Saratoga H.S., Saratoga;

Agastya Gupta, 17, Saratoga H.S.;


Puneeth Naga Sai Krishna Meruva, 17, Homestead H.S., Fort Wayne;

Priya Mirmira, 18, Park-Tudor School, Indianapolis;


Atman Panigrahi, 17, River Hill H.S., Clarksville;

Umesh Janak Padia, 17, Poolesville H.S., Poolesville;

Matthew D. Das Sarma, 17, Montgomery Blair H.S., Silver Spring; 

Sachin Pandey, 17, Montgomery Blair H.S.;

Ishaan Manish Parikh, 17, Montgomery Blair H.S.;

Arjuna Subramanian, 17, Montgomery Blair H.S.;


Tejasv Arya, 18, Phillips Academy, Andover;

Abhinav Sai Venigalla, 17, Phillips Academy;

Kavish Gandhi, 17, Newton North H.S., Newtonville;

Ayush Kumar, 18, Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science, Worcester;


Naveen Jasti, 17, Detroit Country Day School, Beverly Hills;

Aditya Mukundan, 17, International Academy, Bloomfield Hills;

Vipul A. Nandigala, 17, Walled Lake Western H.S., Walled Lake;


Rahul Parhi, 17, Wayzata High School, Plymouth;


Pranav Subramaniam, 18, Millard North H.S., Omaha;


Eswar Anandapadmanaban, 17, Dr. Ronald E. McNair Academic H.S., Jersey City;

Ananya Joshi, 17, High Technology H.S., Lincroft;

Abhiram Karuppur, 17, The Pingry School, Martinsville;


Ankit Singh Baghel, 18, The Albany Academies, Albany;

Farzana Khan, 17, Bronx High School of Science, Bronx;

Ariana Gopal, 18, St. Francis Preparatory School, Fresh Meadows;

Jay Khurana, 18, Fayetteville-Manlius H.S., Manlius;

Abhinav Arunabh Talwar, 17, Herricks H.S., New Hyde Park;

Arjun Kapoor, 17, The Wheatley School, Old Westbury;

Brinda Ramesh, 17, Ossining H.S., Ossining;

Ridoy Majumdar, 17, Syosset H.S., Syosset;

Divij Sharma, 17, Syosset H.S.;

Pavithran T. Ravindran, 17, Walter Tresper Clarke H.S., Westbury;


Uday Uppal, 17, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham;


Aswin Bikkani, 18, Westlake H.S., Westlake;


Anika Raghuvanshi, 17, Jesuit H.S., Portland;


Kevin Biju, 17, Methacton H.S., Eagleville;

Shashwat Kishore, 18, Unionville H.S., Kennett Square;


Souvik Banerjee, 17, Colleyville Heritage H.S., Colleyville;

Niranjan Balachandar, 18, Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science, Denton;

Sunand Iyer, 18, Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science;

Perry Alagappan, 18, Clear Lake H.S., Houston;

Alicia D’Souza, 17, Plano East Senior H.S., Plano;

Ria Chhabra, 17, Plano Senior H.S., Plano;

Ahneesh Jayant Mohanty, 16, Plano Senior H.S.;

Raj Munavar Sajjath, 16, Plano West Senior H.S., Plano;


Pooja Chandrashekar, 17, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Alexandria;

Shreya Nandi, 17, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology;


Reesab Pathak, 16, Camas High School, Camas;

Shanta Katipamula, 18, Hanford H.S., Richland;


Dhaivat Nitin Pandya, 17, Appleton North H.S., Appleton.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.