Indian Scientists

Nine Indian American scientists were honored for their contributions in cancer research by the Society of Asian American Scientists in Cancer Research April 2. Pictured (left to right) are Drs. Ignacio Pino, Pranela Rameshwar, Ratna Vadlamudi, Sanjay Srivastava, Balveen Kaur, Lokesh Agarwal, SAASCR president Rajvir Dahiya, Ramani Ramchandran, SAASCR secretary Dharam Paul Chauhan, and Mandip Singh Sachdeva. Not pictured was Nishant Agarwal. (photo provided)

The Society of Asian American Scientists in Cancer Research April 2 presented awards to nine doctors for their outstanding contributions to cancer research during the American Association for Cancer Research meeting in Washington, D.C.

Presented the honors by SAASCR president Dr. Rajvir Dahiya, the awardees were Indian American Drs. Ignacio Pino, Pranela Rameshwar, Ratna Vadlamudi, Sanjay Srivastava, Balveen Kaur, Lokesh Agarwal, Ramani Ramchandran, Mandip Singh Sachdeva and Nishant Agarwal.

The scientists were awarded for their contributions to cancer research.

Pino is president and chief executive of CDI Laboratories Inc. He is a veterinarian by training with a DVM degree from Ross University School of Medicine. CDI focuses its efforts in the commercialization of the HuProt human proteome microarray and HuProt-enabled workflows for antibody specificity and cross-reactivity qualification, rapid and efficient monospecific monoclonal antibody development and autoantibody biomarker discovery in oncology, immunotherapy and autoimmunity.

Rameshwar is a tenured professor in the Rutgers University medicine department’s Division of Hematology/Oncology. She gained an undergraduate degree at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a doctorate from Rutgers University. Rameshwar has a multi-disciplinary background in the areas of stem cell biology, hematopoiesis, immunology and cancer biology. She studies hematopoietic dysfunction, including the process involved in aging. She has developed four graduate courses in stem cell biology, including a course in cancer stem cells.

Vadlamudi is a tenured professor in obgyn and cell systems and anatomy departments at the University of Texas Medical School in San Antonio. Vadlamudi is also co-leader of cancer development and progression of CTRC. She received a doctorate from the University of Wyoming and completed post-doctoral training at Harvard Medical School and UT.

Srivastava is a distinguished professor of biomedical sciences and associate dean for sciences at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Srivastava was also recently appointed as the chairman of Department of Immunotherapeutics and Biotechnology at the same institution. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Lucknow University and doctorate from the Indian Institute of Toxicological Research in Lucknow. Srivastava also serves on the editorial board of several journals as well as on the grant review panels of the National Institute of Health and the Department of Defense.

Kaur is professor and vice chair of research within the department of neurological surgery at Ohio State University. She also serves as the associate director within the university’s Comprehensive Cancer Center. Her research is focused on oncolytic viral therapy for cancer with a focus on virus induced changes in the tumor microenvironment, and is currently funded by three NIH grants.

Agrawal leads a cross-functional team in the Cancer Diagnosis Program, DCTD, NCI, managing a comprehensive grants and contracts oncology portfolio totaling about $50 million. He is also actively involved in leading trans-NCI collaborative efforts with the office of director, and other divisions at NCI supporting several proteomic and molecular programs. Agrawal has expertise in clinical laboratory science clinical trials and has regulatory experience with FDA, according to the SAASCR news release. He earned his doctorate from the All India Institute of Medical Sciences and did his master’s from AMU, and bachelor’s from Delhi University.

Ramchandran is the Patrick J. and Margaret G. McMahon professor of obstetrics and gynecology, professor of pediatrics and clinical translational science institute, and vice chair for research in obstetrics and gynecology at the Medical College of Wisconsin. He is also an investigator at the Children’s Research Institute, in the Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin. Ramchandran received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Mumbai University and a doctorate from Augusta University.

Sachdeva is a professor and section leader of pharmaceutics at Florida A&M’s College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. He is also the past-chair of the Dermatopharmaceutics Focus group for AAPS and also the current chair of the Webinar Committee of the AAPS Nanotechnology Focus group. Sachdeva, with master’s and doctorate degrees from Dalhousie University in Canada, has over 150 publications in peer reviewed journals as well as four patents for his technologies.

Agrawal is an internationally-recognized expert in head and neck surgical oncology, as well as head and neck cancer genetics. He is chief of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, director of head and neck surgical oncology and professor of surgery at the University of Chicago. He serves as a member of the NIH’s grant review study section, sits on the editorial board of scientific reports and is a peer-reviewer for more than 20 scientific journals. Agrawal completed medical school and residency training at Johns Hopkins University. He completed a head and neck surgical oncology fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and a molecular genetics research fellowship at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

Founded in 2004 by Dahiya and Dharam Paul Chauhan, who serves as secretary, SAASCR has more than 5,000 scientists from Asia, mainly of Indian origin, and working in the U.S. and Canada in the field of cancer research.

SAASCR is a non-political and non-profit organization and fully sponsored by the biotechnology company.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.