Regional winners in the 32nd annual Ernst & Young U.S. Entrepreneur of the Year Award were announced in the Florida and San Diego regions, with Rajesh Toleti and Rameez Ansari among the winners advancing to the national competition.

Toleti, the chief executive officer at Orlando-based HealthGrid, was named the winner in the Health Care Technology category.

The Indian American entrepreneur co-founded HealthGrid in January 2015. The company “is changing the way patients and providers connect and collaborate: meeting your patients where they are,” according to Toleti’s LinkedIn page.

In addition to HealthGrid, Toleti is a member of nonprofit CHIME and advisory board member of AEHIT.

Previously he founded and served as president at PatientPoint, was a board member of the University of Central Florida Foundation, CEO of Galvanon and Cytura, and enterprise program manager of Microsoft.

Toleti earned his bachelor’s of engineering at PSG College of Technology and a master’s degree from the University of Central Florida.

Ansari, co-chief executive officer at Fort Myers-based FieldEdge, along with co-CEO Steve Lau, was named the winner in the Technology category.

Ansari became co-CEO of FieldEdge after acquiring FieldEdge in 2015. Previously, the Pakistani American worked as a management consultant at the Boston Consulting Group in Toronto, where he advised Canadian and international clients in financial services, telecom and technology.

He also serves as a lecturer at the University of Toronto, managing director of Highland Creek Partners LLC and director of Synergy Corporation, according to his LinkedIn page.

He is a graduate of the University of Toronto and earned an M.B.A. from Stanford University.

Another Indian American regional finalist in Florida, Alpesh M. Patel of Benzer Pharmacy, was not chosen to advance to the national competition.

The San Diego region, which featured Suman Kanuganti of Aira Tech Corporation and Hamza Suria of AnaptysBio, named five regional winners – Pieter van Rooyen, Helen Torley, Mark Gleiberman, Kevin Gorman and Tim Gleeson – though neither Indian American executive made the cut.

The Florida and San Diego regions had five regional finalists. They were among countless Indian Americans chosen throughout the country as regional finalists (see India-West article here).

EY will be announcing winners throughout the country through June 28. The national winner will be announced in November at an event in Palm Desert, Calif.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.