kohli awards

India’s cricket captain Virat Kohli. (IANS file photo)

DUBAI (IANS) — India skipper Virat Kohli Jan. 18 swept the International Cricket Council annual awards, winning the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for being the World Cricketer of the Year 2017.

Kohli was also lauded as the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year 2017 as the captain of both ICC Test and ODI teams.

Kohli's Australian counterpart Steve Smith bagged the honor of being the Test Cricketer of the Year. The 28-year-old Smith posted six centuries in just 11 Tests in 2017; three on Australia's tour of India and three in the recently-completed 4-0 Ashes triumph over England.

Moments after the awards were announced, an elated Kohli said winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy felt more special after his teammate Ravichandran Ashwin bagged it last year.

It is the second time Kohli has been named as the ODI Cricketer of the Year after bagging the same honor in 2012 when he was 24 years old.

"It means a lot to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year," the Delhi batsman told ICC's website.

"I won that back in 2012 also but it's the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it's a huge honor for me. It's probably the biggest of all in world cricket and two Indians getting it back-to-back makes it more special.

"Last time it was Ash (Ravichandran Ashwin) and this time I'm getting it, so I'm really, really honored and I'd like to thank the ICC for recognizing all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides and I want to congratulate all the other winners also," he added.

The award was decided for performance based on the period between Sept.  21, 2016 to Dec. 31, 2017. During that time frame, the Indian skipper scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80. Kohli also scored eight centuries in the time period in the longest format, including five double hundreds.

In ODIs, Kohli hammered 1,818 ODI runs at an average of 82.63 including seven centuries, and 299 T20I runs at a strike rate of 153. With Kohli as skipper, India went on to register nine consecutive series win in the longest format.

Three Indians made it to the 2017 Test team of the year: Ravichandran Ashwin, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Kohli, who was also named as the captain for the side.

Rising leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was also recognized for his tremendous performance in T20 cricket and his 6-wicket haul against England in Bengaluru was recognized as the ICC T20I Performance of the Year.

Among others, Pakistan’s Hasan Ali was named the Emerging Cricketer of the Year after he helped Pakistan win the ICC Champions Trophy in June, while Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan was named Associate Cricketer of the Year.

English women cricketer Anya Shrubsole bagged the ICC Spirit of Cricket award while South African umpire Marais Erasmus was awarded the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year.

Pakistan's ICC Champions Trophy 2017 win over arch-rivals India in June was adjudged the ICC Fans Moment of the Year. The Sarfraz Ahmed-led Men-in-Green thrashed India by 180 runs to bag the title at The Oval in London.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.